Nissan Kicks Forum banner

Should I make a manual on how to install the flush rail/roof side rails?

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
2021 Nissan Kicks S
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everybody,

The Nissan Kicks is a fun car, but a significant limitation has been its lack of flush rails/roof side rails to allow for installing a roof rack. I own a 2021 Nissan Kicks S, and from the factory, the car came without flush rails/roof side rails; instead, the car had a black plastic piece covering where the silver flush rails/roof side rails would be. This has been a problem for many people, yet there aren't any solutions. So I decided to figure it out myself, and I did. Before I continue, I do want to mention I am not a mechanic and do not specialize in any car, merely a car owner who decided to do it themselves. I was able to get my hands on the official 2021 Nissan Kicks (P15) paperwork which provided me with complete instructions to dismantle the car, remove/install parts, etc. I then tried to install the flush rails/roof side rails myself. I was successful (though I had to redo it because I realized only after I forgot to order a piece.) The screw holes that hold the plastic cover are also designed to hold the flush rail/roof side rails, meaning it's entirely possible. However, Nissan decided to make the process extremely complicated and it took almost 10 hours of my time to do. For those who are still not discouraged, I have a complete list of all parts needed and full instructions on how to do it. It will take me a lot of time to compile everything into a neat manual, but I will do it if people are interested. Let me know, should I make the manual to install the flush rail/roof side rails or not?

Thank You.

·
Premium Member
2021 Nissan Kicks S
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey,